Coming Home for the Hernandez family

The percentage of poor Mexicans is about the same now as it was in the early 1980s – a little more than 50 percent, however the population has grown over the same period, from 70 million to 100 million. That translates to approximately 19 million more Mexicans living in poverty than 20 years ago.

Source: Washington Post Foreign Service, 2003

According to the Mexican government and international organizations, about 24 million – nearly one in every four Mexicans – are classified as extremely poor and unable to afford adequate food or housing.

Source: Washington Post Foreign Service,2003

50% of Mexican families live on less than $4.25/ day.

8.1 million Mexican families are estimated to be living in over crowded or substandard housing.

Source: INEGI

 Currently there are 1.2 billion people worldwide living on less than $1 per day.

Source: UNCHS

In the gospel of Matthew chapter 25 there is a conversation of serving, faith, redemption, humility, trust, and hope.  Here are verses 35-40 from the New International Version:

35For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ 37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ 40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

This scripture challenges me that when I help those who are in need I am doing that in the name of the Lord.  This allows me to be used by God and bless others while at the same time receiving a blessing myself.

Every May for the last seven years I’ve led a team of 50 people from New Life Church to Mexico so we could build homes for homeless families.  This is how we share the gospel of Jesus Christ with families in Mexico.  Practically serving by getting to know the family and helping build their home.

Children are 47% less likely to contract a lung disease if they simply sleep on a concrete floor.

When we build a home for a family in Mexico, we move that family forward economically by seven years.

The Hernandez family of five helped build their home with us.  They are such a beautiful family.  Dad (Jaime), mom (Norma), 5 year old son, & 3 year old twin boys.

As we finish we gather around to share our thanks to the family for letting us participate in helping build their home.  Then, we give them the keys, they go inside the home, and invite us in for the first time. It’s a very moving moment.

This slide show begins with our team arriving in San Diego, meeting the family in Tijuana, MX, building the home, presenting to the family, and finally gathering to go home.  We went there to bless the Hernandez family and left receiving the blessing.

Song: Coming Home by Gwyneth Paltrow

One response to “Coming Home for the Hernandez family

  1. Thank you for you work to help those in need. Doing this work as I know, is not easy but incredibly rewarding. I pray that you will discovery more and more impactful ways to serve as you search the heart of God for future missions. I also pray for the hearts of those you serve with, that they may be forever changed and called to action. Bless you brother. It was honor to be in class with you.

Leave a comment